New Prince Album Of Unreleased Demos Slated For June 2019

(TIML NEWS) Prince fans have Jay-Z and Troy Carter to thank for his posthumous album, Originals, set to arrive in June 2019. The 15-track project consists of demo tracks selected by Hov, Carter and the late singer’s estate. The compilation will feature songs written and recorded by Prince but made popular by other artists like The Bangles, Vanity 6, and Sheila E.

Originals will debut on Jay-Z’s streaming service TIDAL for the first two weeks after its release on June 7 and then made available everywhere beginning June 21.

The three-year anniversary of Prince’s death was just five days ago (April 21). The following day, it was announced that a Prince memoir, The Beautiful Ones, would be coming to book stands in October 2019.

According to CNN, the published body of work “is the story of how Prince became Prince —a first-person account of a kid absorbing the world around him and then creating a persona, an artistic vision, and a life, before the hits and fame that would come to define him.”

Ava DuVernay is set to direct a Netflix documentary on the legendary performer while a narrative film by Universal is also on the way.

Keep an eye out for the debut of Originals to get another taste of the musical mind that shifted the music industry. See the full tracklist below.

View this post on Instagram

Prince will forever be remembered as a commanding live performer, chart-topping recording artist, and music business revolutionary. Yet for all the time he spent in the spotlight over his four-decade-long career, Prince also worked tirelessly behind the scenes to nurture talent and pen songs for the rising artists he respected. • By the mid-1980s, Prince was dominating the charts with songs that he had either recorded, produced for proteges like Vanity 6 and Sheila E., or passed along to other artists like the Bangles and Kenny Rogers. The effect was a complete saturation and transformation of the pop music landscape, with Prince both leading and subverting mainstream culture. • This June, The Prince Estate, in partnership with Warner Bros. Records and TIDAL, will release Originals, a 15-track album featuring 14 previously unreleased recordings that illuminate the vital role Prince played in other artists’ careers. The tracks were selected collaboratively by Troy Carter, on behalf of The Prince Estate, and JAY-Z. • Starting June 7, Originals will stream exclusively on TIDAL for fourteen days. In the spirit of sharing Prince’s music with his fans as he wanted, the album will be available to stream in Master quality via TIDAL’s HiFi subscription tier. Members will be able to hear the recordings just as the Artist intended the tracks to sound. • On June 21st, Warner Bros. Records will release this extraordinary body of work, sourced directly from Prince’s vast archive of Vault recordings, via all download and streaming partners and physically on CD, while 180 gram 2LP and limited edition Deluxe CD+2LP formats will follow on July 19th. Pre-order the album through the link in our Story or • @wbr @tidal @sheilaedrummer @_kennyrogers @officialthebangles @troycarterofficial #prince #originalsrecord #princeoriginals #vinylrecords #tidal

A post shared by Prince (@prince) on

Originals Tracklist

“Sex Shooter” (Apollonia 6) “Jungle Love” (The Time)

“Manic Monday” (The Bangles)

“Noon Rendezvous” (Sheila E.)

“Make-Up” (Vanity 6)

“100 MPH” (Mazarati)

“You’re My Love” (Kenny Rogers)

“Holly Rock” (Sheila E.)

“Baby, You’re a Trip” (Jill Jones)

“The Glamorous Life” (Sheila E.)

“Gigolos Get Lonely Too” (The Time)

“Love… Thy Will Be Done” (Martika)

“Dear Michelangelo” (Sheila E.)

“Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me?” (Taja Sevelle)

“Nothing Compares 2 U” (The Family)